Mmm… (Italian) French Toast!

Today I had some extra time, so I decided to use what I have around to make a good breakfast. I used Italian bread because that’s what I had, and after the French toast was done I fried some banana slices in butter and syrup for a delicious topping. (After I had my fill of French toast and froze the rest, I ate leftover bananas straight from the pan). Recipe after pics.

with bananas


no bananas

Ingredients
* 2 eggs
* 2/3 cup milk
* 3 shakes of cinnamon
* 1 pinch of salt
* 1 splash of vanilla extract
* 1/2 loaf day-old Italian bread

Topping Ingredients
* 1 banana
* margarine
* syrup

French Toast: Whisk together the first 5 ingredients in a shallow dish. Cut the Italian bread into slices diagonally, so that each slice will have maximum soaking surface area. Let each slice soak in the egg mixture for a minute – if the slices are not submerged, be sure to soak each side. While this is happening, heat up a skillet with a little oil or margarine in it, to medium heat. Also turn on your oven to low heat. Cook a couple slices at a time until they are well browned on both sides. Put finished French toast slices on a pan in the warm oven to stay toasty while you finish.

Banana Topping: After all of the toast is in the oven, melt a little margarine in the hot empty pan and gently slice your banana into the melting butter. (NOTE: Be careful with the banana slices falling into the pan. I splashed my arm with hot butter… ow.) Drizzle syrup on top and stir it around until the bananas are lightly brown and tasty. You might need to sample one. ;)

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mmm… (Italian) French Toast!

  1. snowflakes says:

    i love french toasts…

  2. Janey says:

    That’s a great and simple recipe for french toast.. Thank you.
    Keeping the toasted pieces warm while making more – I’ve never thought of that, but it’s brilliant. No more fighting over who gets the first pieces because they are still hot!
    I wonder if your bananas could be called banana fritters?

Leave a Reply

